Spirit of the Horn

Slide Hampton
Release Date: 02/25/2003

Celebrating the first recording in over 20 years by Slide Hampton and The World of Trombones, Spirit of the Horn captures incomparable new arrangements that explore the complete and sonic pallet of the horn. The 12-trombone and full-rhythm-section ensemble brings Bill Watrous and Mr. Hampton together for their first-ever recording and serves as a tribute to those who have been great influences to Mr. Hampton. Spirit of the Horn represents these musicians commitment to the music, and passion for the trombone.


1. Cherokee
2. All In Love Is Fair
3. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
4. Lament-Basin Street Blues
5. April In Paris
6. Lester Leaps In
7. Moment’s Notice
8. Dolphin Dance
9. Walkin’ -N- Rhythm
10. Maya
11. Blues For Eric