A Swingin’ Life

DIVA Jazz Orchestra with guests Nancy Wilson and Marlena Shaw
Release Date: 08/05/2014

Buy Links

Buy from MCG Jazz

If it weren’t so true it would sound like a cliché: there really is no other ensemble quite like DIVA. A 15-piece all-women big band in the classic tradition—yet wholly un-retro in their approach—DIVA is all about dynamics and innovation, class and sass. Now, on their new CD, A Swingin’ Life, DIVA presents 11 audaciously performed sides culled from the Great American Songbook and beyond. And joining DIVA for the occasion—recorded by New York’s Jazz at Lincoln Center live at Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola and at Pittsburgh’s renowned Manchester Craftsmen’s Guild—are two of our greatest divas, the inimitable Nancy Wilson and Marlena Shaw.


1. What The World Needs Now Is Love
2. Nothin’
3. All My Tomorrows
4. All Of Me
5. The Very Thought Of You
6. Pennies From Heaven
7. Blues Medley [Goin’ To Chicago Blues; Kansas City; Every Day I Have The Blues]
8. Blackberry Winter
9. Wonder Why
10. Nocturne #6 Opus 9, Number 2
11. Blues For Hamp