Perchance To Dream

Gloria Reuben
Release Date: 04/14/2015

Buy Links

Buy from MCG Jazz

Perchance to Dream, the debut jazz album from Gloria Reuben is a collection of standards with a fresh approach that highlights her storytelling and intimate singing style. Every track on Perchance to Dream has been given a unique treatment. The album kicks off with a jazz waltz version of the Irving Berlin standard, Change Partners followed by a powerful original tune, one of two on the album, “Poor Girl” with lyrics from the poem Poor Girl by the late Dr. Maya Angelou and music by Jay Ashby. Next is a mambo performance of “Close Enough For Love” and a playful Samba rendition of “Pure Imagination.” The second original composition is a beautiful ballad entitled “When I Close My Eyes” written specifically for Gloria by K. Lawrence Dunham and Carol Robbins. “How Am I to Know” has a Bossa Nova feel and the classic ballad, “Save Your Love for Me” has been given a contemporary adaptation. The album includes a swinging “You Better Love Me” and a sexy jazz rock version of “Sharing The Night With The Blues”. The record ends with an acoustic depiction of “Here’s To Life,” just as powerful as any production ever done.


1. Change Partners
2. Poor Girl
3. Close Enough For Love
4. Pure Imagination
5. When I Close My Eyes
6. How Am I To Know
7. Save Your Love For Me
8. You Better Love Me
9. Sharing The Night With The Blues
10. Here’s To Life