Sweet Candor

Maureen Budway
Release Date: 02/17/2015

Buy Links

Buy from MCG Jazz

Sweet Candor is a collection of songs that represent Maureen Budway’s unique ability to perform in a variety of styles with authority, passion and a deep understanding of each genre. Sweet Candor is set for release on February 17, 2015, on the MCG Jazz label. Maureen Budway’s execution of the song, from the Carmen McRae influenced “Del Sasser” to the Budway original ballad “Lonely Cane,” conveys the message of the song in a profound way, reaching into the depth of her very being. Maureen and her brother, pianist David Budway, have been performing together since childhood, and their ability to communicate musically is truly akin to thinking as one. This is powerfully apparent in the “Americana Suite” as they reach back into their childhood performing a medley from the classic film Holiday Inn as well as “Hard Times Come Again No More” written by Pittsburgh’s own Stephen Foster.


1. I’ll Close My Eyes
2. Sweet Lover No More (featuring Sean Jones)
3. Del Sasser
4. Trav’lin’ Light (featuring Hubert Laws)
5. The House I Live In
6. The White Cliffs of Dover (featuring Joe Negri)
7. Hard Times Come Again No More
8. Say It With Firecrackers / Song of Freedom
9. A Gershwin Medley [How Long Has This Been Going On, Fascinating Rhythm, Someone To Watch Over Me, The Man I Love]
10. Spring Is Here
11. Aquas De Marco
12. Lonely Cane